Deer Jerky

Don’t get me wrong, I was a bit skeptical the first time I had deer jerky. My Mr’s brother brought a bag of it to the last family event and gave me a bit to try. I have to admit it was amazing! With my new-found love of jerky, and the fact that the last venison roast I made left us with so many leftovers the Mr was begging me ‘no more venison!’ I decided to try something new with the second roast we had.

For more information on the nutritional value of venison, check out my post here. It’s my new favorite meat! With an 8 lb roast in my fridge, I scoured the internet for jerky recipes. Most of them involved the same directions and ingredients, so it was easy to choose one! I took the recipe from NW Edible with minor adjustments!

Venison Jerky Marinade 

For every 1 lb of venison, you’ll need:

  • 4 tbsp soy sauce (salt helps in the preserving process so make sure not to use reduced sodium soy sauce)
  • 4 tbsp Worcestershire suace
  • 2 tbsp A-1 (the commissary had a coupon for a free bottle of A-1 cracked peppercorn-YUM!)
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp chili powder and/or red pepper flakes

Directions:

  1. Slice your venison roast into 1/4 in thick strips. (This is a lot easier if it’s still partially frozen and a very sharp knife) – For tender jerky, slice if across the grain…for chewier jerky, slice with the grain. 

    Venison Jerky

    Venison Jerky

  2. In a large freezer bag, combine the marinade ingredients and add the meat. (I wrapped the lip of the bag around the top of my measuring cup and added them this way)

    Venison Jerky

    Venison Jerky

  3. Allow meat to marinade overnight at least (24 hours is better), mixing the bag up occasionally to make sure all of the meat is covered. (This marinating in a salty mixture will aid in the cooking and preserving process)

    Venison Jerky

    Venison Jerky

  4. Remove meat, discard marinade and preheat the oven to 200 degrees fahrenheit. You can either lay the meat flat on a cookie sheet, making sure they’re not touching, hang them directly from the rack (lining the bottom of your oven in tin foil to catch any drips) or pierce each strip of jerky with a toothpick at the top and hang them from the toothpicks on the racks.
2 thoughts on “Deer Jerky

  1. Pingback: You’ve got mail! | Reason to Smile

Leave a Reply

