I’m Not Really Sure What’s For Dinner…

Faux Pho
Faux Pho

No…really…I made something…I’m just not quite sure what it is! I had originally planned to make Faux Pho (recipes from EpicuriousFoodJaunts, and Bon Appetit  – although Bon Appetit makes ramen even sound pretentious — ) but best laid plans…I ran to the store, got what I thought I needed, and came home $6 later. Unfortunately, the main ingredient was BEEF ramen. I only had chicken. Damn! So I improvised. I thawed that lamb stock I made the other day, added the rice noodles, mushrooms, onion, and cauliflower and let simmer. A little Siracha, a LOT of soy sauce and it turned out pretty good! I’m not 100% sure what went into it but here’s my best guestimation!

Broth of somesort (preferably beef)

Rice noodles

Package of baby bella mushrooms (sliced)

1/3 Head of cauliflower (in small pieces)

1/2 white onion, large dice

Sprouts

Cilantro

Lemon Juice

1/2 Jalapeno, thinly sliced

Handful of green onions, thinly sliced

Ginger, thinly sliced

1. Simmer the first five ingredients together until cooked through.

2. Use the second six ingredients as garnish.

 

Leave a Reply

